New Years Resolutions

I’ve never been a big fan of new years resolutions. I’ve always thought that if you truly wanted to change something about yourself, you would start immediately.

I have, however, always been a fan of new beginnings. The best new beginning is the start of a new year.

When I think about where I was at the beginning of 2012 and where I am now, it’s almost like night and day. I ended toxic relationships, made some great new friendships, grew professionally and emotionally, took risks, won awards, interned for a company that I love, ran in elections and won everything I ran for.

I had a lot of personal victories in 2012. I had some of my highest and proudest and funnest moments of my life. Looking at who I was at the beginning of the year and who I am now, it seems like so much has changed. But at the same time I feel exactly the same.

I made a simple and abstract resolution last year: Do great things.

That’s exactly what I did. I am proud of my accomplishments. 2012 was my year. I know that 2013 will be my year as well. I plan on taking risks, putting myself out there, talking to people I normally wouldn’t, trying things outside of my comfort zone and stretching myself to see my true potential.

2012 was a gem. 2013 has a lot to live up to.

Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply

